Shopify vs Wix vs Squarespace: Where to Sell in 2026
Three months of selling cost $3 on Shopify, $81 on Squarespace Core and $348 upfront on Wix Core. Plans, fees and AI-chat selling, from each pricing page.

Want the rest of our builds? New tests every week on our YouTube channel.
Watch this on YouTube SubscribeAlso on our YouTube channel, where we post every new build.
In this article
- What we ran and what we only read
- Which plan can actually sell, and what it costs
- What three months of selling costs you
- Card fees per sale
- The AI part: which one sells inside ChatGPT
- The AI assistants inside the builder
- Shopify vs Wix vs Squarespace at a glance
- Who should pick which
- Who should skip Shopify
- Verdict
Short answer: if you sell products, start on Shopify. It is the cheapest of the three to test and the only one that ships with a channel for selling inside AI chats. Three months on Shopify Basic cost $3: $1 a month after a 3-day free trial, then $39 a month or $29 on yearly billing (shopify.com/pricing, read 24 September 2026). Wix's cheapest plan that can take payments is Core at $29 a month on yearly billing. Squarespace's cheapest plan without a platform fee on product sales is Core at $17 a month yearly, $27 monthly. On plan price alone, Squarespace is the cheapest of the three once the first year starts. Shopify wins if what you run is a store: unlimited products, its own checkout, and an AI-chat sales channel on every plan, which we saw switched on in our own Basic store from day one.
What this is based on. We run a real Shopify store, opened 20 September 2026 on the Basic plan, so the Shopify behaviour below is what we saw ourselves. We have not opened a Wix or Squarespace store. Every Wix and Squarespace fact here comes from the vendor's own pricing page, help center or blog, read on 24 September 2026 and linked where it is used. That is why this page has no scores. How we draw that line: how we test.
Basic renews at $39/mo, or $29/mo paid yearly (shopify.com/pricing, 24 Sept 2026)
What we ran and what we only read
| Claim | Where it comes from |
|---|---|
| Shopify signup, plan screen, the Agentic sales channel, Sidekick on Basic | our own Shopify store, opened 20 September 2026 |
| Shopify plan prices and third-party payment fees | shopify.com/pricing, read 24 September 2026 |
| Wix plan prices, which plan can sell, Wix Payments rates | Wix's own blog and help center, read 24 September 2026 |
| Squarespace plan prices, transaction fees, card rates, AI credits | squarespace.com/pricing and its help center, read 24 September 2026 |
One caution on location. Our office is in Israel, and two of the three sites price by country. Wix's plans page showed us local prices with tax included, so the Wix dollar prices below come from Wix's own pricing guide on its blog. Check each pricing page from your own country before you budget.
Which plan can actually sell, and what it costs
The cheapest plan on each homepage is not always a plan that can sell. This is the entry point that takes an order and a payment:
| Platform | Cheapest plan that sells | Billed monthly | Billed yearly (per month) | Platform fee on product sales |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify | Basic | $39 ($1 for the first 3 months) | $29 | 0% with Shopify Payments, 2% with any other provider |
| Wix | Core | not shown to us | $29 | none listed |
| Squarespace | Basic | $19 | $12 | 2% |
| Squarespace | Core | $27 | $17 | 0% |
Sources: shopify.com/pricing; Wix's plan cost guide and help center, which says a Light plan "won't be able to accept payments"; squarespace.com/pricing. All read 24 September 2026.
Three things in that table that are easy to miss:
- Wix's listed prices are yearly, paid in full. Its own guide says the prices on the pricing page "are for yearly subscriptions paid in full". Core at $29 a month is $348 on the day you start. Wix does offer a 14-day money-back guarantee (help center, 24 September 2026). Wix's free plan shows Wix ads and cannot sell.
- Squarespace Basic charges 2% on every product sale. Core is $5 a month more on yearly billing and charges 0%. So Core pays for itself at $250 a month in sales ($5 ÷ 2%), or about $400 a month if you compare the monthly prices ($8 ÷ 2%). If you plan to sell at all, budget Core.
- Shopify's 2% only applies if you do not use Shopify Payments. With Shopify Payments there is no third-party transaction fee. But Shopify Payments covers about 40 countries. Our own store is registered in Israel, and its Payments page offers no Shopify Payments option, so a store like ours pays the 2% on Basic. The details are in Shopify Payments: what it asks for.
What three months of selling costs you
If you are testing whether your products sell at all, the money that matters is how much you spend before you find out.
| Platform | Cheapest route to three months of selling |
|---|---|
| Shopify Basic | $3: 3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months |
| Squarespace Core | $81: 14 days free (no card), then three months at $27, billed monthly |
| Wix Core | $348 upfront on yearly billing, with a 14-day money-back window |
Our arithmetic from the pages above, read 24 September 2026. We could not see a monthly price for Wix, so the Wix row uses the only price it showed us. The Shopify row is what our own store's plan screen said after signup: "$1 USD/month until 23 December 2026".
The $1 period is the reason we tell product sellers to start on Shopify even though Squarespace is cheaper over a full year. Shopify's Help Center says it "doesn't extend or reset free trials or promotional pricing", so use the three months to sell, not to think about it. Our Shopify worth-it breakdown covers what the store costs after the $1 period and when Grow earns its extra $50 a month.
3-day free trial, then $1/month; Basic is $39/mo after, or $29/mo on yearly billing (shopify.com/pricing, 24 Sept 2026)
Card fees per sale
The plan price is the fixed cost. The card fee is the one that grows with you. With each platform's own payments service, in the US:
| Platform | Online card rate | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Shopify Payments | from 2.5% to 2.9% + 30¢, depending on plan | Shopify's own card fees article, 13 January 2026 |
| Wix Payments | 2.9% + $0.30 (Amex 3.7% + $0.30) | Wix help center |
| Squarespace Payments | 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic and Core, 2.5% + $0.30 on Advanced | Squarespace help center |
At the entry plans the three are close: about 2.9% plus 30 cents a sale. We have not taken a payment on any of them, so we will not claim which one is cheaper for your order size. Shopify did not show its per-plan online rate from our location. You will find it in your own Payments settings. Our Shopify fee calculator adds the plan and the fees up at your own volume.
Wix and Squarespace both add 1.5% on international cards. Squarespace also lists 5.45% + $0.30 for Klarna and 6% + $0.30 for Afterpay.
The AI part: which one sells inside ChatGPT
This is where the three differ most in 2026, and where the evidence is least even.
Shopify: built into the plan, and on in our store. Every Shopify plan lists "Sell in AI chats" (pricing page, 24 September 2026). Our Basic store had an "Agentic" sales channel in the admin from the first day, with "Allow Shopify to manage for me" switched on for ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot. Shopify's Agentic Storefronts page says it is "enabled automatically for eligible stores", with the sale going through Shopify's own checkout. Two honest caveats. First, eligibility is real: our brand-new store's Shopify Catalog, which is what AI agents read, still showed 0 products after we added one, and Shopify's requirements include a public store and a sales history (what we measured). Second, Shopify's terms say it "may" charge a fee on some AI-channel sales, shown per channel in the admin. How to set it up: selling on ChatGPT with Shopify.
Wix: rolling out. Wix's own agentic commerce post (27 July, updated 26 August) says Stripe's Agentic Commerce Suite "is rolling out gradually" to eligible Wix merchants, and that PayPal's in-chat checkout is "anticipated to follow shortly". It does not say which plans or countries qualify.
Squarespace: not found. We found no Squarespace page about selling products inside ChatGPT or other AI agents. What it does offer is an "AI Visibility" tool on its pricing page, to track how your brand shows up in AI search, and a Squarespace GPT that hands a site description to its website builder. Useful, but that builds a site. It does not sell in the chat.
The AI assistants inside the builder
All three now sell AI help for running the site. Here is how each one is included, from the vendors' own pages:
- Shopify Sidekick is "included with your Shopify plan", with limits that "vary by plan". We ran it on our Basic store for five real jobs. It audited the store, wrote a discount, fixed SEO fields and generated a working custom app on Basic, though Shopify's Help Center says app generation needs Grow. It also set a discount to end an hour early, so check what it writes. The full test: Shopify Sidekick tutorial.
- Squarespace counts AI in credits: 10 one-time credits on Basic, 20 a month on Core, 120 a month on Advanced (pricing page). Its toolset includes Blueprint AI for building the site, AI writing, and an image studio.
- Wix lists a team of AI agents for stores (setup, SEO and marketing, customer chat, automation) plus AI product descriptions and packshots. Its post does not say which plans include them.
We check the plan pages before we recommend anything
Squarespace's 2% Basic fee and Wix's yearly-only prices both sit a click below the headline price. Subscribers get those checks as we run them, at most one email a week.
Shopify vs Wix vs Squarespace at a glance
| Compared | Our pickShopify | Wix | Squarespace |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan that sells | Basic, $39/mo or $29/mo yearly | Core, $29/mo yearly | Basic $12/mo yearly, Core $17/mo yearly |
| First months | 3 days free, then $1/mo for 3 months | 14-day money-back window | 14-day free trial, no card |
| Platform fee on product sales | 0% with Shopify Payments, 2% on Basic otherwise | None listed | 2% on Basic, 0% from Core |
| Card rate, US online | 2.5% to 2.9% + 30c by plan | 2.9% + 30c | 2.9% + 30c on Basic and Core |
| Products | Unlimited from Basic | Not stated per plan | Unlimited |
| Sell inside AI chats | Listed on every plan, channel on in our store | Rolling out gradually via Stripe | No page found |
| AI assistant | Sidekick on every plan | AI agents, plans not stated | Credit based, 10 to 120 per plan |
| Did we run it? | Yes, our own Basic store | No, vendor pages only | No, vendor pages only |
| Next step | Try Shopify |
-
Our pickShopify
- Cheapest plan that sells
- Basic, $39/mo or $29/mo yearly
- First months
- 3 days free, then $1/mo for 3 months
- Platform fee on product sales
- 0% with Shopify Payments, 2% on Basic otherwise
- Card rate, US online
- 2.5% to 2.9% + 30c by plan
- Products
- Unlimited from Basic
- Sell inside AI chats
- Listed on every plan, channel on in our store
- AI assistant
- Sidekick on every plan
- Did we run it?
- Yes, our own Basic store
-
Wix
- Cheapest plan that sells
- Core, $29/mo yearly
- First months
- 14-day money-back window
- Platform fee on product sales
- None listed
- Card rate, US online
- 2.9% + 30c
- Products
- Not stated per plan
- Sell inside AI chats
- Rolling out gradually via Stripe
- AI assistant
- AI agents, plans not stated
- Did we run it?
- No, vendor pages only
-
Squarespace
- Cheapest plan that sells
- Basic $12/mo yearly, Core $17/mo yearly
- First months
- 14-day free trial, no card
- Platform fee on product sales
- 2% on Basic, 0% from Core
- Card rate, US online
- 2.9% + 30c on Basic and Core
- Products
- Unlimited
- Sell inside AI chats
- No page found
- AI assistant
- Credit based, 10 to 120 per plan
- Did we run it?
- No, vendor pages only
Who should pick which
| If this is you | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You sell physical or digital products and want to find out fast whether they sell | Shopify Basic | $3 for the first three months, unlimited products, its own checkout, and the AI-chat channel on the plan |
| You sell products and are outside Shopify Payments' countries | Shopify Basic, then check the math | You pay 2% on Basic; Grow's 1% pays back at about $5,000 a month in sales (the break-even) |
| You mostly need a good-looking site and sell a handful of items | Squarespace Core | $17 a month yearly with 0% on product sales; Basic's 2% costs more than Core above $250 a month in sales |
| You already run your site on Wix and want to add a small store | Wix Core | The first Wix plan that can take payments, $29 a month on yearly billing |
Who should skip Shopify
Shopify is built to sell products. If the site is a portfolio, a restaurant menu or a service business that mainly takes enquiries, you would pay $39 a month for a checkout you rarely use. Squarespace's and Wix's site builders are aimed at exactly that, and Squarespace Core costs $204 a year on yearly billing against $348 for Shopify Basic. Coaches and consultants who sell appointments are usually better served by a booking tool; our booking app guide compares the ones we built with.
Verdict
For a small business whose goal is to sell products, Shopify is the one to start on in 2026. It costs $3 to run for three months. It has no product cap from Basic. And it is the only one of the three whose pricing page lists selling inside AI chats on every plan, a channel we saw in our own store's admin. Squarespace is the cheaper yearly bill if the site matters more than the store. Wix makes sense mainly if you are already on it. Whichever you pick, the plan that can sell is not the cheapest plan on the page: Shopify Basic, Wix Core, Squarespace Core.
3 days free, then $1/month for 3 months; Basic $39/mo after, or $29/mo on yearly billing (shopify.com/pricing, 24 Sept 2026)
Frequently asked questions
Is Shopify better than Wix for selling products?
For a product store, yes. On 24 September 2026 Shopify Basic cost $1 a month for the first three months, then $39 ($29 yearly), with unlimited products and an AI-chat sales channel on every plan. Wix Core, its first plan that takes payments, was $29 a month on yearly billing, paid in full.
Is Squarespace cheaper than Shopify?
Over a full year, yes. Squarespace Core was $17 a month on yearly billing ($204 a year) against $29 a month ($348) for Shopify Basic on 24 September 2026. Shopify is cheaper for the first three months: $3 in total.
Which Wix plan do you need to sell online?
Core or higher. Wix’s help center says a Light plan cannot accept payments, and its pricing guide calls Core the first plan that lets you accept payments ($29 a month on yearly billing, read 24 September 2026). The free plan cannot sell.
Does Squarespace charge transaction fees?
On the Basic plan, yes: 2% on online store sales. Core, Plus and Advanced charge 0% on product sales (squarespace.com/pricing, 24 September 2026). Card processing through Squarespace Payments is separate, 2.9% + $0.30 on Basic and Core in the US.
Does Shopify charge transaction fees?
Not if you use Shopify Payments. With any other payment provider Shopify adds 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow and 0.6% on Advanced (shopify.com/pricing, 24 September 2026). Shopify Payments is not available in every country.
Can you sell on ChatGPT with Wix or Squarespace?
Wix says Stripe’s agentic checkout is rolling out gradually to eligible Wix merchants (Wix blog, updated 26 August). We found no Squarespace page about selling inside AI chats. Shopify lists selling in AI chats on every plan.
Does Wix have a free trial?
Wix has a free plan, which shows Wix ads and cannot sell, and a 14-day money-back guarantee on paid plans (Wix help center, 24 September 2026). Shopify offers 3 days free and then $1 a month for 3 months; Squarespace offers a 14-day free trial.
Related tests

Shopify Sidekick Tested: 5 Real Jobs on the Basic Plan
We gave Shopify Sidekick five real jobs on a Basic-plan store. It audited, wrote SEO and built an app, and set a discount to end an hour early.

How to Open a Shopify Store in 2026, Step by Step
How to open a Shopify store in 2026, step by step on a real store: the $1/month offer, what it costs after three months, and every setup screen.

Is Shopify Worth It in 2026? Real Costs, Plan by Plan
Shopify Basic is $1 a month for 3 months, then $39 or $29 paid yearly. We opened a real store, priced every plan and found when Grow pays for itself.
Check your app before a client does
Get the 12-point checklist we test every AI app builder against. Then at most one email a week: what we built, what broke and what it cost. Unsubscribe anytime.